Hampstead Garden Suburb Pre-School
Free Church Hall, Northway,
London NW11 6PB
Tel: 07785 995412
Download Registration Form


The Early Years Foundations Stage

The Early Years Foundations Stage (EYFS), is set by Government and sets the Standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to 5 (Every Child Matters). The standards and principles of EYFS underpin all future learning by supporting, fostering and promoting each child's development in the seven areas of Learning and Development.

Personal, social and emotional development - is made up of the following aspects:

  • Self-confidence and self-awareness: children are confident to try new activities, and say why they like some activities more than others. They are confident to speak in a familiar group, will talk about their ideas, and will choose the resources they need for their chosen activities. They say when they do or don't need help.
  • Managing feelings and behaviour: children talk about how they and others show feelings, talk about their own and others behaviour, and its consequences, and know that some behaviour is unacceptable. They work as part of a group or class, and understand and follow the rules. They adjust their behaviour to different situations, and take changes of routine in their stride.
  • Making relationships: children play co-operatively, taking turns with others. They take account of one anothers ideas about how to organise their activity. They show sensitivity to others needs and feelings, and form positive relationships with adults and other children.